Goat Church and Chapter House
Sopron, Templom u. 1.
The Franciscans living in Sopron first built their monastery in the centre of town. Around 1280, they built a church, popularly known as "the goat church", which is one of the most outstanding works of Hungarian Gothic architecture. József II dissolved the Franciscan monastic order in 1787, and the church was taken over by the Benedictine monks. During the centuries the church was the site of coronations and numerous parliamentary sessions. Its well-proportioned, finely-architectured tower is one of the most spectacular buildings of the unrivalled Main Square. The masterpieces of the fresco painters and other artists, the lancet windows, and the unique Capistran pulpit are of extraordinary value.
The monastery's late Baroque door on the south side of leads to the Chapter House. The Chapter House served as a prayer house, later as a burial chapel, and finally as a Loretto chapel. Archeological explorations unveiled Gothic pillars, beautifully crafted corbels, and parts of medieval frescos. The masks and the figures with human-heads and animal bodies hidden in the leaf ornaments of the pillars' capitals represent the seven main sins. This room is one of the most beautiful works of Gothic religious architecture.